Systèmes d'information sur le marché du travail (LMIS)

Qu'est-ce que le SIMT et comment nous pouvons vous aider

L'identification des questions relatives au marché du travail repose essentiellement sur la disponibilité de données, d'informations et d'analyses. Les systèmes d'information sur le marché du travail (LMIS) constituent une base essentielle pour les politiques de l'emploi et du travail, et permettent de concevoir, mettre en œuvre, suivre et évaluer des politiques mieux ciblées. Les LMIS contribuent également à réduire les coûts de transaction des marchés du travail, car ils aident à surmonter les informations incomplètes des agents du marché du travail.

La plupart des pays se sont engagés à développer des systèmes d'information sur le marché du travail. Cependant, en particulier dans les économies en développement, le fonctionnement du SIMT, si de tels systèmes ont été mis en place, est entravé par diverses contraintes, notamment les limites des données. Les limitations des données affectent non seulement des questions complexes telles que l'informalité et la protection de l'emploi, mais aussi les indicateurs du marché du travail qui, dans la plupart des économies développées, sont disponibles sur une base mensuelle ou trimestrielle, tels que les indicateurs de l'emploi et du chômage. Les limitations des données sont liées, dans les économies en développement, à des contraintes telles que la rareté des ressources, la capacité analytique limitée et les facteurs structurels. En outre, les institutions du marché du travail, y compris les organisations de travailleurs et d'employeurs, sont faibles dans de nombreuses économies, ce qui entrave le développement et l'utilisation de mécanismes permettant d'intégrer les informations et les analyses dans la prise de décision. Ces problèmes peuvent conduire à une formulation mal informée des politiques et à un suivi inadéquat, ce qui entrave les efforts déployés pour atteindre les objectifs en matière de marché du travail et de développement.

FAQ

Un système d'information sur le marché du travail est un réseau d'institutions, de personnes et d'informations qui ont des rôles, des accords et des fonctions mutuellement reconnus en ce qui concerne la production, le stockage, la diffusion et l'utilisation d'informations et de résultats liés au marché du travail afin de maximiser le potentiel de formulation et de mise en œuvre de politiques et de programmes pertinents et applicables.

L'objectif principal du SIMT est la production d'informations et d'analyses destinées aux décideurs politiques et aux autres acteurs du marché du travail. Par exemple, les fonctions de l'Observatoire européen de l'emploi sont énoncées comme suit : "L'Observatoire européen de l'emploi contribue au développement de la stratégie européenne pour l'emploi en fournissant des informations, des recherches comparatives et des évaluations sur les politiques de l'emploi et les tendances du marché du travail". Il est important de mettre en place des dispositions institutionnelles afin de rendre les informations et les analyses largement disponibles et de donner aux acteurs du marché du travail la possibilité d'influencer l'agenda du SIMT. 

Le SIMT peut également être directement impliqué dans le suivi et le compte rendu des politiques de l'emploi et du travail. Tant au niveau international que national, le rôle institutionnel du SIMT peut être élargi pour inclure l'échange d'informations ou la coordination des activités du SIMT des parties prenantes du marché du travail, qui comprennent les agences statistiques, les organismes de recherche et les agences participant à la formulation et à la mise en œuvre des politiques, y compris les organisations de travailleurs et d'employeurs. Cette fonction peut aller de la diffusion d'informations sur les concepts, les définitions et les normes, à l'allocation de ressources concernant la collecte de données ou des activités analytiques spécifiques.

Les systèmes d'information sur le marché du travail ont trois fonctions principales :

(1) Faciliter l'analyse du marché du travail ;

(2) Fournir la base pour le suivi et le compte rendu des politiques de l'emploi et du travail ; et

(3) servir de mécanisme d'échange d'informations ou de coordination des différents acteurs et institutions qui produisent et utilisent des informations et des analyses sur le marché du travail.

Les systèmes d'information sur le marché du travail se composent de quatre éléments principaux :

(1) Collecte et compilation de données et d'informations ;

(2) Dépôt d'informations ;

(3) Capacité et outils d'analyse ; et

(4) Dispositions institutionnelles et réseaux.

En ce qui concerne la première composante, et étant donné que le SIMT doit fournir des analyses des marchés du travail dans leur contexte économique, la collecte ou la compilation de données ne consiste pas seulement en données sur les marchés du travail, mais aussi sur l'économie au sens large. Par exemple, les données sur les flux commerciaux et les transferts de fonds sont indispensables pour analyser les effets du marché du travail sur les crises économiques.

Un LMIS efficace s'appuie sur toutes les principales sources de données. Chaque source présente des avantages et des limites en termes de coût, de qualité et de type d'informations obtenues. 

main-d’œuvre Les enquêtes peuvent être conçues pour couvrir l'ensemble de la population d'un pays, tous les secteurs de l'économie et toutes les catégories de travailleurs, y compris les travailleurs à leur compte, les travailleurs familiaux contribuant à la famille et les personnes exerçant un travail occasionnel. C'est pourquoi les enquêtes auprès des ménages main-d’œuvre offrent un avantage unique pour obtenir des informations sur le marché du travail d'un pays et sa structure. D'autres sources, telles que les recensements de la population, les enquêtes polyvalentes sur les ménages, les enquêtes sur les établissements ou les dossiers administratifs (par exemple, les dossiers des services de l'emploi), diffèrent par leur portée, leur couverture, leurs unités de mesure ou leurs méthodes de collecte de données.

Par ailleurs, les enquêtes sur les établissements ne couvrent généralement pas les très petites entreprises ou les entreprises non enregistrées, mais constituent une source plus fiable sur les salaires et les revenus. De même, les registres administratifs constituent une source peu coûteuse d'informations sur le marché du travail, mais ces informations sont limitées par l'objectif des registres, qui peut être différent de celui d'un analyste ou d'un décideur politique. 

Au minimum, le LMIS suit un ensemble d'indicateurs, qui constituent la base du développement de systèmes plus avancés. Un ensemble d'indicateurs largement utilisé est celui des Indicateurs du travail décent (ITE). Les indicateurs de travail décent couvrent les quatre dimensions de l'BIT Agenda pour le travail décent, ainsi que les indicateurs du contexte économique et social. 

Ce que nous offrons

Nous pouvons fournir une solution pour le stockage et la diffusion des indicateurs du SIMT avec .stat. Cette puissante plate-forme est disponible pour les États membres qui mettent en œuvre le LMIS dans le cadre d'un accord entre BIT l'OCDE et la Communauté de collaboration sur les systèmes d'information statistique (SIS-CC).

Pré-requis

  1. L'office statistique national mène une enquête auprès des ménages, de préférence une main-d’œuvre enquête, au moins une fois par an.
  2. Configuration minimale requise pour le matériel et les logiciels.
  3. Dispositions institutionnelles et réseaux en place.

Des dispositions institutionnelles sont nécessaires pour que le SIMT puisse remplir efficacement sa fonction analytique, par exemple en donnant accès aux données (des agences statistiques, des organes administratifs et d'autres entités), mais aussi pour permettre une diffusion efficace des informations et des analyses. Un exemple de dispositif institutionnel simple est la création d'un groupe consultatif du SIMT, réunissant les décideurs politiques, l'agence statistique et les organisations de travailleurs et d'employeurs.

Les points forts de la stratégie

LMIS.Stat

Principales fonctions de l'État

Saisie des données

Une application web pour traiter et charger les données dans l'entrepôt de données. Les données peuvent être au format csv, .txt, .xml ou sdmx*.

Stockage des données

Basé sur le serveur Microsoft SQL et une technologie d'entrepôt de données à schéma en étoile standard.

Sortie des données

Un point de sortie unique dessert toutes les sorties de l'entrepôt de données, exposant les données à plusieurs outils de diffusion par le biais d'un ensemble de services Web.

Analyse des données

Stat permet d'extraire des données vers divers outils d'analyse pour une analyse plus approfondie des données.

Exemple de projet

  • Projet mené par l'Instituto Nacional de Estadística (INE)
  • Assistance locale par DWT/CO-Santiago
  • En direct à partir de décembre 2018

Labour Market Information Systems (LMIS)

What is LMIS and how we can help

The identification of labour market issues critically rests on the availability of data, information and analysis. Labour market information systems (LMIS) provide an essential basis for employment and labour policies, and inform the design, implementation, monitoring and evaluation of policies that are better focused and targeted. LMIS also contribute to a reduction in the transaction costs of labour markets as they help overcome incomplete information of labour market agents.

Most countries are committed to the development of labour market information systems. However, particularly in developing economies, the functioning of LMIS, if such systems have been established at all, is hampered by various constraints, including data limitations. Data limitations affect not only complex issues such as informality and employment protection, but also labour market indicators that in most developed economies are available on a monthly or quarterly basis, such as employment and unemployment indicators. Data limitations are related in developing economies to constraints such as resource scarcity, limited analytical capacity and structural factors. Furthermore, labour market institutions, including workers’ and employers’ organizations, are weak in many economies, which hampers the development and use of mechanisms to feed information and analysis into decision-making. Such problems may lead to ill-informed policy formulation and inadequate monitoring, hindering efforts to achieve labour market and development objectives.

A labour market information system is a network of institutions, persons and information that have mutually recognized roles, agreements and functions with respect to the production, storage, dissemination and use of labour market related information and results in order to maximise the potential for relevant and applicable policy and programme formulation and implementation.

The main purpose of LMIS is the production of information and analysis for policy makers and other labour market stakeholders. For example, the functions of the European Employment Observatory are stated as follows: “The European Employment Observatory contributes to the development of the European Employment Strategy through the provision of information, comparative research and evaluation on employment policies and labour market trends.” It is important to establish institutional arrangements in order to make the information and analysis widely available, and to provide opportunities for labour market stakeholders to influence the agenda of the LMIS. 

The LMIS can also be directly involved in monitoring and reporting on employment and labour policies. Both at the international and national levels, the institutional role of the LMIS can be broadened to include the exchange of information or coordination of the LMIS activities of labour market stakeholders, which include statistical agencies, research agencies and agencies involved in policy formulation and implementation, including and workers’ and employers’ organizations. This function may range from the dissemination of information on concepts, definitions and standards, to the allocation of resources regarding data collection or specific analytical activities.

Three main functions of labour market information systems include:

  • Facilitating labour market analysis;
  • Providing the basis for monitoring and reporting on employment and labour policies;
  • Serving as a mechanism to exchange information or coordinate different actors and institutions that produce and utilize labour market information and analysis.

Labour market information systems consist of four main components:

  • Collection and compilation of data and information;
  • Repository of information;
  • Analytical capacity and tools; and
  • Institutional arrangements and networks.

Regarding the first component, and given that LMIS should provide analyses of labour markets in their economic context, collection or compilation of data consists not only of data on labour markets, but also on the broader economy. For example, data on trade flows and remittances are indispensable for an analysis of the labour market effects on economic crises.

Effective LMIS draw on all major data sources. Each source has advantages and limitations in terms of the cost, quality and type of information gained. 

Labour force surveys can be designed to cover the entire population of a country, all sectors of the economy and all categories of workers, including own-account workers, contributing family workers and persons engaged in casual work. For this reason, household-based labour force surveys offer a unique advantage to obtain information on the labour market of a country and its structure. Other sources, such as population censuses, multi-purpose household surveys, establishment surveys, or administrative records (e.g., employment service records), differ in scope, coverage, units of measurement or methods of data collection.

Meanwhile, establishment surveys typically have poor coverage of very small or unregistered businesses but are a more reliable source on wages and earnings. Similarly, administrative records provide a low-cost source of labour market information, but this information is limited by the purpose of the records, which may be different from that of an analyst or policy maker. 

At a minimum, LMIS track a set of indicators, which constitute the basis for the development of more advanced systems. A widely-used set of indicators are the Decent Work Indicators (DWI). DWI cover the four dimensions of the ILO’s Decent Work Agenda, plus indicators of the economic and social context. 

Amongst the more than 400 indicators and breakdowns in ILOSTAT, the Key Indicators of the Labour Market  (KILM) constitute a subset of labour market indicators used to monitor new employment trends. The initial set of indicators was selected in consultation with the OECD and national representatives from Ministries of Labour and statistical offices. The selection and design of the core indicators has evolved since the first edition of KILM, and is still in evolution, including new indicators based on demand and availability. 

What we offer

We can provide a solution for storage and dissemination of LMIS indicators with .Stat.  This powerful platform is available for member States implementing LMIS through an agreement between ILO and OECD and the Statistical Information Systems – Collaboration Community (SIS-CC).

Pre-requisites

  1. The national statistical office conducts a household survey, preferably a labour force survey, at least annually
  2. Minimum system requirements for hardware and software
  3. Institutional arrangements and networks in place

Institutional arrangements are needed for the LMIS to effectively perform its analytical function, for example by providing access to data (from statistical agencies, administrative bodies and other entities), but also to allow for the effective dissemination of information and analysis. An example of a straightforward institutional arrangement is the establishment of an LMIA Advisory Panel, joining policy-makers, the statistical agency and workers’ and employers’ organizations.

.Stat highlights

  • High quality product: .Stat is one of the most advanced statistical information systems’ platform currently used in the official statistics community.
  • Affordable investment: Under the “umbrella” of ILO’s membership to the SIS-CC, a country implementing a LMIS can use the product and receive first level support and free upgrades. The only investment required to the country are the expenses associated to the deployment of the platform and training on .Stat administration and data/metadata management.
  • Community values: The SIS-CC promotes a series of values that are aligned with ILO principles, like partnership (collaboration rather than a vendor/client relationship), transparency (information openly and transparently shared among members), commitment (to respecting the coordinated work plans put in place), industrialisation (outputs developed according to best practices in application lifecycle management), and standards (foster and promote internationally-defined standards, such as SDMXGSBPMGSIM, and CSPA).
  • Sustainability: The collaborative approach for development, and the number of institutions using the software minimize the risk of support or further development being interrupted, an inconvenient situation that unfortunately is quite common when contracting external developers.
LMIS.Stat
LMIS.stat

.Stat main functions

Data entry

A web based application to process and load data into the Data Warehouse. Data can be in csv, .txt, .xml or sdmx* format.

Data storage

Based on Microsoft SQL server and a standard star schema data warehouse technology.

Data exit

A single exit point serves all outputs from the Data Warehouse exposing the data to several dissemination tools through a set of Web services.

Data analysis

.Stat allows for the extracting of data to various analytical tools for further data analysis.

Example project

  • Project led by Instituto Nacional de Estadística (INE)
  • Local assistance by DWT/CO‐Santiago
  • Live as of December 2018